Located about a mile from Carrigans Village in the Laggan region of East Donegal, Monreagh Heritage Centre educates visitors about some of the most important chapters in Ulster Scots – Scots Irish History.
Sitting opposite one of the oldest Presbyterian churches in Ireland, our Donegal Visitor Attraction contains a wealth of information from the Plantation of Ulster to the present day. A nearby, inscribed commemoration stone marks the site where the first Ulster Scots congregation of the Lagan worshiped. Visitors will appreciate the picturesque, unspoiled landscape of the Lowlands of Donegal.
The Old Manse, Monreagh, Carrigans, County Donegal Tel: |+353 (0)74 9140708 | Email: email@example.com
Monday – Friday 10am to 4pm
Evenings and Weekends by arrangement
The Centre contains four themed exhibition rooms, each dedicated to a particular period of history. The Living History Garden contains exhibits that remind us of the architecture, and agricultural industries, of the past. Visitors can view a Round House, Plantation Cottage, Forge and Flax patch.
The Laggan DistrictThe Laggan is a level tract of fertile agricultural land between Lough Foyle and Lough Swilly. The word ‘Laggan’ derived from the ‘lag’ or ‘lug’ meaning a flat place.
The History of the Laggan
There can be no doubt of the importance of the Lagan district in the wider history of these islands. Ancient remains remind us that from the earliest times the people of the Lagan have played key roles in the most momentous events in Irish History.
Today's Laganeers preserve the History and Culture of the Regionpreserving the ways and traditions of the region is an ongoing venture
Chairperson of Monreagh
Ulster Scots speaker, musician, singer, farmer and collector of Ulster Scots memorabilia, Stewart Buchanan resides in the Burt area of The Laggan District. A descendant of Francis Mackamie, Stewart is passionate about the history. and people of The Laggan.
Rev. Dr David Latimer
Minister of Monreagh
Rev Latimer has been Minister of Monreagh and First Derry Church since 1988 and is also an active Committee Member of our Centre. David was one of the members responsible for the establishment of the Heritage Centre at Monreagh
The oldest Presbyterian congregation in the Laggan was established in 1644. This was part of the Solemn League and Covenant expansion across Ulster in 1644. The missions to Ulster were headed by Rev James Hamilton, William Adair, John Weir and Hugh Henderson. The first minister of Monreagh was Rev. Robert Cunningham who was here in 1645. His successor was the Rev. John Hart, who came here from Hamilton in Scotland in the year 1655.
Secretary of Monreagh Centre
Belinda is an author, librarian, local historian and keen gardener. She is very active in local history societies and has written extensively on her local parish of Ballindrait.
Lifetime Resident of Monreagh
Colm Clarke has lived all his life in the historic and scenic town-land of Monreagh. After completing his education at Monreagh National School he spent his adult working life as an industrious laborer in the flax and farming industries of East Donegal.
Flax was sown and processed in the Lagan area of Donegal for centuries, up until the introduction of synthetic materials in the 1950s. The international demand for flax products, such as linen, deteriorated and the stable industry of the Lagan, eventually, became virtually non existent.